Login / Register

We Are Singapore: The Journey of a Song and a Nation


Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.

Added by Admin in Photo collection


Released in 1987 as part of a five-year national campaign leading up to the 25th year of Singapore’s independence, ‘We Are Singapore’ is one amongst the pantheon of classic national songs that every Singaporean knows and loves. The #NDP18 theme song is an adaptation of this 1987 classic, refreshed through a new preface written by local singer-songwriter Charlie Lim. Featuring a collection of new interviews, this documentary explores the impetus for the 1987 version of ‘We Are Singapore’, and how the evolution of Singapore over the past three decades influenced the reworking of the song in 2018. Discover the incredible story of ‘We Are Singapore’ as told by the composers and singers of the song, both old and new. #NDP2018 #WeAreSingapore

Follow us on:
Website: https://www.ndp.org.sg
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NDPeeps
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ndpeeps

Anne Weerapass, Charlie Lim, Dr. Sydney Tan, Hugh Harrison, Jeremy Monteiro, Richard Tan, Robert Fernando, Roslinda Baharudin

Director: Aydeel Djoeharie
Producers & Research Team: Basil Yeo, Aydeel Djoeharie, LTC Mikail Kalimuddin, CPT Adrian Ng
Director of Photography: Basil Yeo
Grip: Lee Guo Hui
Makeup & Hair: Estrilda Yasmin Sahira
Additional Filming: LCP Tan Chun Yan, PTE Maximilian Liang
Editing: Basil Yeo, Aydeel Djoeharie
Dialogue Clean-up: Julius Chua

Archival Material
News articles: The Straits Times, Business Times, The New Paper, Material sourced from the Archived Reading Room, National Archives of Singapore
Images & Posters:
Photo of Mr. Lee Kuan Yew from Ministry of Information and the Arts Collection, courtesy of National Archives of Singapore
Poster of ‘We Are Singapore’ from Ministry of Information and the Arts Collection, courtesy of National Archives of Singapore
The private collections of Mr. Hugh Harrison and Mr. Robert Fernando
Music Videos:
‘We Are Singapore’ (1987) from the private collection of Mr. Robert Fernando
‘We Are Singapore’ (2018)
NDP 1987 Live Broadcast Footage: Shared Services Centre, MediaCorp TV Singapore Pte Ltd

Special Thanks
We Are Singapore 1987 Team: Jonathan Tan Teck Meng (Singer), and everyone else involved in the production of the song and filmlet
Original ‘We Are Singapore’ cassette tape loaned by: Ms. Woo Lai Meng, Mint
Charlie’s manager: Alan Tang
Chen Jieyun, Hamish Brown, Lai Yoke Lan, Mdm Yeong Yoon Yin, Queena Lau, Vincent Cheong
Ministry of Communication and Information, National Archives of Singapore, National Library Board
Q.E.D. Media, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Commissioned by the NDP 18 Branding and Publicity Subcommittee

A 2018 tokuAsia Pictures Production for NDP 2018

Presented by Kopitiam

Post your comment


Be the first to comment